Carnival Sunshine Cruise Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 (310 ratings - 111 Reviews)

  • Had a great time! Would definitely cruise the Sunshine again. Beware of booking a deck 6 forward room, it's right on top of the Liquid Lounge which cranks the dance music till 2 am. Had the worst 2 nights of sleep I've ever had on a cruise ship. Ate at both JiJi & Cucina del Capitano and the food was spectacular, worth the extra money. We didn't smell any of the sewage odor everyone else has posted about, though it was a concern of mine. Enjoyed the piano bar as always. Staff is always pleasant & helpful. First time we've cruised from Port Canaveral & I thought it was extremely organized & efficient. Carnival does however need to devise a better debarking process. Crowded hallways & elevator areas. Not the first ship I've experienced this chaos on. All in all had a fun & relaxing 2 days!

    Rating: 4/5

    Stacey,


  • About to disembark, the food was great! Sewage smells are on random spots throughout the ship, There are signs of wear and tear, still a fun ship though.

    Rating: 4/5

    Nakia,


  • Really 3.5 Great itinerary, happy for the repositioning- Port Canaveral is very efficient. Believe the hype- the odor exists, as far up on the 12th floor Gym is amazing, however lacks the ocean view of the magic Entry and exit at Ports from Gangway is inefficient- poor design on 1 stairwell Staff as always was pleasant and helpful; food was good, very difficult to resist Guy's Burgers. Clean and maintained. Slides were only open a few times however. Siestas in Aruba so beware restaurants close at 2 so eat lunch prior. Also stay away from top floor Cuban Restaurant on corner- awful!

    Rating: 3/5

    charles.nuckols,


  • The staff on the ship was so great, always had me laughing!! The ship itself was so much fun and there was always something to do for everyone in the family. The food was great as well as all the shows.

    Rating: 5/5

    nicole28,


  • Love this ship, even better than the Destiny, we sailed on our first cruise. Guy's burger is the bomb, I wish every ship had one ! The water Works is sweet my kids loved it, same with the ropes course couldn't get enough. The food is pretty good to, we went to the Italian place and it was great, the Japanese place not so much, wasn't for me.

    Rating: 5/5

    Brandon,


  • We went on this ship December 2013 after is arrived in New Orleans. They must have had a new crew because they did not know what to do many mix ups at dinner and staff did not get out of our way in the hallways. We had medical emergency the first evening and could not reach the dr on the ship till morning. The renovation from destiny to sunshine was very nice. I hope by now the crew got their act together. Probably won't go back on that ship.

    Rating: 2/5

    ellenmailo,


  • Currently on the Sunshine, all I have to say is that Carnival has lost me as a customer. I read all about the negative reviews and assumed Carnival would have fixed all the problems by now. I was wrong, the ship has terrible sewer smells throughout the ship. It is a shame that you pay good money to be on this ship and you have to put up with the sewer smells. It is disgusting. I will never use Carnival again!!!

    Rating: 1/5

    gerald7451,


  • We sailed the sunshine on Dec we loved the new upgrades Carnival made. I would recommend this ship. The shows could have been better, however we really enjoyed the comedy shows. Happy sailing!

    Rating: 4/5

    nordean,


  • I liked it every thing was just really cramped. The rooms were really nice and the crew was really nice. The water slides were fun but weren't open the whole time.

    Rating: 4/5

    abart70,


  • Cruise was 3/30/2014 . We had a great time. The food was good , no long waits or lines at any time. The rooms are smaller than say the conquest balcony room . A/c worked good most of the time , couple times room got warm. We were on lido deck forward, no foul smells but from say 5 and down every now and again would get a little odor . I dont care for them taking out all of the mini fridges from the rooms, that was something that was a bonus on other cruises. I main gripe was Carnival needs to have smoke free balcony decks,besides just cloud 9 . We couldnt enjoy our balcony cor the chain smokers around us, or make it a e-cig only boat. The main pool area on sunshine was very tight and small. Carnival alao needs to lower the prices on photos by atleast half so more people can take home photo's and they dont have to throw so many away ,which is really stupid seeing that would make the same money or more with less waste.

    Rating: 3/5

    Hank,


  • Fantastic 1/26/2014 Cruise!!! We had a blast & would have gotten right back on if there was space! We were so busy we forgot to order a DVD. PLEASE, if you were on that same cruise & got the video, Please let me know here. Thanks!!! Sharon

    sharonlynnec,


  • My family just came back home Sunday from a cruise on this ship an they said it was wonderful!!! I asked them if there was an awful smell an they said no... So many mixed reviews about the smell on this ship.., but they had an awesome time so that's all that matters!!!!!!

    Rating: 5/5

    AshB27,


  • Our room smelled like sewage the entire 7 days, the food was ok, the pool area is TINY, the "adult only" area was not adults only!! I will NEVER sail on this ship again!

    Rating: 1/5

    teresa.staton,


  • Just returned home today from the Sunshine...there is a definite "foul" smell from Deck 4/5 down. Aside from those decks, occasionally you will catch it. Outside of the smell most have complained about - I cannot personally complain about anything else. Was our 3rd cruise with Carnival and definitely will be booking our 4th.

    Rating: 4/5

    jazzyd,


  • I just got off the Sunshine. Was the BEST cruise out of 15. I dont know where the bad reviews came from. The crew were fantastic...attentive, funny, friendly!! The food was the best I have had on any ship. The layout of the ship is one of my favorites. The shows are a MUST see....Aaron, Simone and the rest of the entertainment team are superb!!!!!!!! I have ZERO complaints. Our cabins were adjoining on Deck 11. PERFECT!!!!!

    Rating: 5/5

    Heather And Jim,


  • We have cruised quite a few time this is second time with carnival and we will never use them again the staff are very rude have no interest in passengers and food was same day after day there is very little lounge seating if you want to sit and read we were very disapointed

    jeannterry,


  • Just got back Sunday from a week on the Sunshine. I had read a lot of negative comments but we really had no complaints. Our ocean view cabin was larger than the balcony we had before and there were no maintenance problems. I. Was disappointed in the size of the ship and that outside seating areas for eating were very limited. Going from the larger Magic to the smaller Sunshine was hard to get used to along with the layout of the ship. I will stick with the larger ships from now on. For the people that have complained about all the kids on the Carnival cruise ships they have to expect that on a spring break cruise.

    Rating: 4/5

    Melanie Domerese,


  • Can't wait for our first cruise ,we are so excited . I'm a little nervous about letting my teens run around ( afraid they will fall off ) other then that, we are counting down the days till sept 13 !!!! 🚢🇬🇧🇮🇹🚢

    Rating: 5/5

    🚢cruisin🚢,


  • Anyone cruising July26th? I can't wait!!! Sounds like sewage problem is on lower decks??? Hopefully that issue will be deal with before my cruise and if not... I still plan to enjoy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Rating: 1/5

    ChemoGrlRN,


  • We did the Sunshine this past week and it was enjoyable! It's not near as nice as the Magic but it wasn't horrible. There was sewage smell sometimes on the lower decks. The areas were smaller and there was less to do. Some of the staff was unfriendly and rude but for the most part everyone was very friendly. The renovations looked really nice and everything was clean. The layout of the ship was hard to understand at times as well. But if you are looking to book for your first cruise or you have younger kids this is the perfect ship! The entertainment and food was fantastic and the dining service couldn't have been any better. Overall it was a great trip in our book!

    Rating: 4/5

    Jama Domerese,


  • Cruising June 14th! This will be my 4th cruise with Carnival! Entire family back at it again :) A much needed vacation couldn't come any faster!!!!!!!

    Rating: 4/5

    sherna13,


  • Was NOT impressed at all. I thought after $155 million remodel that everything would be prefect. We cruised on the Carnival Magic last year, and it was wonderful, but don't see any need to do the Sunshine again. The cabins seemed smaller, and had no night stands and less storage. The dinning room and cabin stewards were nothing like our past cruise's.

    Rating: 2/5

    Joey,


  • First time on the Sunshine leaving July 19th. Have always had awesome cruises with Carnival. The liberty is our favorite ship so far and can't wait to see the new Sunshine!

    Rating: 5/5

    Lbkladybug,


  • This was by far the worst cruise I have ever taken. The smell on this ship was horrible, the air conditioner wasn't working properly and there were bugs in one of our rooms. Too many problems to list. A huge disappointment!!

    Montrea,


  • Awful. Downright awful. First cruise and last. Sewage smell on deck 1 and plumbing problems (toilet overflowed constantly). Management admitted there was a problem with the smell and plumbing. Food was awful except for the omelets in the morning. Not sure why everyone raved about the steakhouse. The food isn't worth $35 extra. And the food on the Lido Deck is a nightmare. I stuck with the prepackaged cereal and milk. AC in the room didn't work the whole time either. The excursion to Belize is chaos. I am well travelled and have been to my fair share of places. I'm not one to leave a negative review but this is awful. Unsanitary. Nasty. Small areas. Think twice about booking with this company and ship.

    Rating: 1/5

    WhitneyM,


  • Just got off of this ship on my fiancé and I's cruise and we had an absolute amazing time! This is a pretty lengthy and in depth review, so if you don't like to read full reviews you might want to tl;dr this one. Carnival has packed all of the Fun Ship 2.0 enhancements on board and has really improved the ships decor from its old, glitzy Vegas themes to a more contemporary and cool feel. My fiancé and I had the junior suite cabin on the spa deck, deck 10, and we loved it! It had a walk in closet for two, a nice big screen television, a larger balcony, and a lovely whirlpool tub in a larger than average bathroom. The only thing that we didn't like about our cabin was that its large and gorgeous balcony was intruded upon by peering eyes from those staying on the newly added decks on 11 and 12. Since the newer rooms on deck 10 protrude outward from the ships infrastructure, they are partially exposed from above, thus resulting in the privacy problem. Those people gazing out to the sea from Deck 14 on Serenity were also able to see on to a portion of our balcony. It was a little disheartening when we wanted to spend romantic moments looking out to sea on our balcony. The ship's entire entertainment staff, Cloud 9 Spa staff, wait staff, steward staff, and guest services staff was absolutely fabulous. The cherry on top of it all was our Cruise Director, Butch Begovitch, who pretty much set the perfect fun atmosphere for the whole vacation. I highly recommend booking cruises while Butch is on board because he is the best cruise director that I've ever had the pleasure of sailing with on Carnival! These guys definitely know how to have fun and coordinate an amazing vacation! As far as the ships new places and spaces on board went, everything was pretty phenomenal, especially when compared with the other 4 Carnival Cruises that I've cruised on before this one (all of which were pre-2.0 upgraded ships). The food from Cucina del Capitano, JiJi's Asian Kitchen, Fahrenheit 555, Bonsai Sushi, Lido Marketplace, Guy's Burgers, The Blue Iguana Cantina, and the main dinning rooms were all absolutely delicious and flavorful! We only had one issue during a main dining time where a steak was undercooked and a little too fatty, but that was literally the only bump we had for food. The new Red Frog Rum Bar, Blue Iguana Tequila Bar, Alchemy Bar, EA Sports Bar, and Serenity deck bar were all great as well. What was nice here was that while the Serenity Bar and EA Sports Bar offered the typical cocktails and alcohol available in all other main places on the ship, all of the other venues offered a great variety of specialized cocktails and concoctions that you could only obtain at those specific bars. It was a great way to enhance the flavor and atmosphere of each location. (Psst! Hey, they make some MEAN cocktails over at the Alchemy Bar. STRONGLY recommended!) Oh! And don't pass up Java City if you like to get your coffee and latte fix. Java City also offers quite a few spiked coffees and shakes for those of you that like a little extra fun in your drink! The new Ocean Plaza is a great location to catch karaoke performances, trivia games, and live music on the daily. Carnival really opened this area up on deck 5, past the gorgeous casino, so that it's more fun and inviting for guests. Also, the new Waterworks and Serenity Decks? They are probably the best in the fleet. They are huge and absolutely amazing. The slides are a blast! Here is where my only two negatives about the ship come in. The new Liquid Lounge is WAY too small for the increased amount of passengers that this ship carries. While the new 2 story lounge has totally revolutionized the ability for Carnival to actually have a functioning adult dance club (the Liquid Night Club that was opened every night was pretty boss and featured amazing mixes from Carnivals new DJ's) the ability for it to successfully serve as an appropriately sized show lounge fell short. The 2.0 Playlist Production shows were amazing and obviously, everyone wanted to get a seat to see them, but the size of the lounge coupled with the large families that would hoard seats all over the lounge lead to major seating issues. There was one instance where I had to sit behind a support pole structure (infamously found in Carnival's showrooms) and I literally missed half of the action on stage during Epic Rock (this is arguably the most amazing show that Carnival has produced to date on its 2.0 ships). Adding more cabins, eliminating a floor of seating in the lounge, and not being able to find a structural compromise for those support structures = a pretty miserable experience unless you get there 45 minutes before the shows start... Lastly, the newly restructured aft lounge, now called the Limelight Lounge, faced similar issues. While they've pulled out all of the new and modern stops to feature all of the hilarious comedians that come on board, there simply wasn't enough space in the lounge to accommodate everyone that would've liked to enjoy the shows. Even though there were 5 different show times for each comedian, there were always people standing on the outskirts of this downsized lounge. Again, the addition of even more cabins on deck 4 aft eliminated the public space that would've been required to make this an appropriate venue. All in all, this ship is pretty fantastic. Just make sure to plan accordingly for all of the major shows because you REALLY wouldn't want to miss any of the Playlist Productions. And the comedians are too hilarious to pass up, so make sure you get to the Limelight Lounge early too.

    Rating: 4/5

    Dylan,


  • I just got off of the sunshine today! I had a great time!! The only problem I had with the sunshine is the show times for the shows they need more then two! I didn't get a chance to go to any of the shows!!

    Rating: 4/5

    Jamie,


  • Sailed on Sunshine 2/9-2/16. Had an amazing time. I also sailed on Destiny back in 2010. The ship looks nothing like its old self and the refurb is amazing. This is by far my favorite Carnival ship. The Serenity area is awesome, crew was friendly and our MDR staff awesome. The entertainment was the best I have seen on a ship. Ben Gentry in the Piano bar was great as was Andy Fergueson in the Red Frog Pub. I would not hesitate to sail on Sunshine again and can't imagine anyone not enjoying a trip on this ship.

    Rating: 5/5

    cadsev,


  • Sailed 02/23/14 the ship is beautiful, staff was very friendly and helpful and the entertainment was awesome. We did as much or as little as we wanted each day and had a very nice vacation.

    Rating: 5/5

    RitaJo96,


  • Just returned today, March 2,2014 from a wonderful cruise with my husband. We were celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary and had the best time, the best weather , the best shows, just GREAT!!! Cudos 5+++++++ to BUTCH the cruise director! Awesome and the BEST cruise director we have had in our 10 plus cruises!!! He is upbeat and gets and keeps the passengers pumped up!!! The dancers in the shows are equally fantastic!!!!!! Got to be a VIP in the disco show and had a ball. Then got invited to a special VIP meet and great with the dancers! Such great people and they could sing and dance like no body's business!!!! Ship clean, lots to do and we hated leaving!!! Would sail on the Sunshine again!!!!!! Ready to plan our next cruise!!! Charles & Vickie Osborne

    Rating: 5/5

    Vickie Osborne,


  • May 17 who's going

    Rating: 5/5

    spongebob36001,


  • Can't wait to cruise on the Sunshine for my Birthday leaving April 19th just me and my Hubby!

    Pamella,


  • Is anyone going on march2 I haven't even gone and I know it's good!!!!!😝

    Rating: 5/5

    Emily,


  • Going march 30th so excited.

    Rating: 5/5

    masoncp8,


  • By far the best Cruise we have been on. Had a blast. Great food, punchliner comedy club was Awesome!

    Rating: 5/5

    jmarler85,


  • I loved the sunshine, although it rained the entire time it was amazing with great intertainment and I made some amazing friends in O2

    Rating: 5/5

    Mary Kate,


  • Show areas are too small. Comedy show filled up very fast. Had to get there half hour before show to get a seat. Stateroom was great and room steward was good. Had different wait staff every night and some were personable and others hardly talked to us. Special effects in the main show lounge were spectacular. Food was good. Guys burger joint was fabulous. Kids were at sports square almost the entire cruise. They loved it. Sky course was their favorite.

    Rating: 3/5

    Mitch,


  • I will be on the relocation cruise too going solo this time

    Gooneybird,


  • Going on the relocation cruise with my mom. 11 day of nothing but fun and rest. Can't wait the 6 of April can't get here fast enough.

    Rating: 4/5

    Leeannda2,


  • Going May 2!!

    Rating: 5/5

    Heather,


  • Going on feb 23 2014 so excited

    Rating: 5/5

    Soup,


  • The trip of a Lifetime last August 30 - September 8. Mediterranean Cruise!!

    Rating: 5/5

    Stonecompound2@yahoo.com,


  • Sailed in the Sunshine in January. mt mom and I had a great time! Shows were excellent and food was good. It rained almost everyday of the cruise but the crew made it well worth it. Jaime, the cruise director, was awesome. This was our first cruise and we loved it so much we are already booked for a June sailing!

    Rating: 4/5

    Arielle,


  • We just returned from our cruise on the Sunshine (2/2-2/9). This was my first cruise and I am so hooked. We had a balcony room on the 7th floor. The ship was nice and everything was operational and functioned well. The staff was amazing! Our servers for dinner (Darlene & Serban) were so wonderful. Deanne in the Cloud 9 Spa was awesome! Our cabin steward (Putu) was also great! Butch was a fantastic CD...full of energy and enthusiasm. All of the food we tried was delicious - whether in the main dining area or on Lido. Our week went by far too quickly! We booked our next cruise for the Dream in 2/2015 while we were on this one. Only good times and great memories to report!!!

    Rating: 5/5

    Heather,


  • Hello cruisers! My family and I Will be cruising the Sunshine on April 27, 2014. We are a total of 16 people with kids ranging from 11-18 and adults from 22-70! I have no doubt that we are going to have a fabulous time! The new 2.0 renovations are so exciting. I have cruised on the sister ships the Magic, Dream, and just recently the Breeze. we have seasoned cruisers as well as first timers. The cruise is what you make it! If you look for negitivity I am sure you can find it. However, if you want great food, fun, and sun that is what you will get! Happy Cruising.

    Rating: 5/5

    Kathryne,


  • My wife and I sailed the Sunshine Jan 19th this year we had our 4 daughters and my mother in law all in all we had a great time ship was great plenty to do service in the 6:00 dining was in need of attention we have had better service before this being said we reslly loved the ship may sail her or the Breeze Jan 2015

    Rating: 4/5

    mattsilvey,


  • got back in the 2nd the smell on the ship is so bad, all those reviews are true stay away from this ship!!!

    Rating: 1/5

    Robert,


  • Alchemy bar los mejores tragos del barco,todo muy nitido..no tengo quejas! love it!

    Rating: 5/5

    sheryl ,


  • Great ship & crew, could not ask for better.

    Rating: 5/5

    Glenn,


  • Just returned from 7 day on the Sunshine. We did a Captain's Suite on deck above the bridge and it was the best cruise ever out of 12 with Carnival in the past. I just don't understand where these negative reviews that you read around the net on different forums are coming from. After reading these we were very suspect upon boarding but virtually none of them are true that we could find. i believe Carnival did a great job on the refit from Destiny to Sunshine.

    Rating: 5/5

    cyberbob,


  • As a frequent Cruiser (48cruises) & a Platium member. I think I can say with some authority that my New Year Cruise on the Sunshine was one of the most unpleasent cruise I been on. The ship was said to have a $4 million conversion from the Destiny It seemsthe improvements were only superficial to the main rms. and some of the cabins. the plumbing on deck 1 needs work. ( I was there on deck 1 in the aft cabins the sewer lines over flowed and in some hallways there was a foul smell.) I meet a couple that did not have hot water for 4days. In my cabin and in my 2 daughters in other cabins on deck 1 experienced banging & strange noises all night. the noise was so bad that they gave us a discount on the rms. ( something Carnival rarely does) In the Alcomy bar lounge, I sat in the lounge for 40 min. to get a before dinner cocktail and was not approach by a bar waiter, while there were 2 bar tender and waiter behind the bar. My cabin stwarts and main dinning room waiters were excellent.

    Rating: 3/5

    Pinto,


  • ironteam2206 - Wife and I just came back off Sunshine. If you are a new cruiser, enjoy the first time feel of a great new experience and know that other ships in the Carnival company are much better. If you are a Carnival veteran it is an ok ship. The public areas are smaller so get to shows earlier. The Limelight Lounge holds 150 versus 650 so get there early. The Liquid Lounge, is smaller as well but normally not a problem to get a seat. The best food is Guy Fieri's a Hamburger joint. The ship had 3000 guests and 1000 workers so you wait a lot. Get the Faster to the Fun pass. It is worth it since you don't wait to get on the ship or for tenders off the ship , getting help at the front desk, etcetera. The Serenity area is awesome. The cosmetic upgrades to the ship are cheap , the paint is already peeling and the toilets stopped working on day one. Three cabins had their toilets overflow at once and they had to move out. The fun area in the back was great. Not the best cruise weve had.

    ironteam2206,


  • sailing in to new orleans now i was very impressed with carnival as a whole the upgrade on this ship amazing staff couldnt have been better with muy 2 or five yr old one thing that needs improvement is the hostess in the anytime dining and bar staff hostesses have no idea what is going on waitstaff just the opposite some nights my waiters had to get my drinks from the bar because they could not find the bar servers i said 6 urs ago i would never sail Carnival again now i have to say cant wait to get on land to book another what a great family vacation with lifelong memories

    Rating: 5/5

    ballcountyseal,


  • Sailed the Destiny in 2009 and loved it. Can't wait to sail aboard the Sunshine in June 2014 with all the family, celebrating a high school graduation, my husbands birthday and my dads 77th birthday. Gonna be a great trip!

    Rating: 5/5

    Laurie,


  • Sailed 10/20-11/1 2013. 12 day Mediteranean cruise. diesnt really look like it was recently renovated. except fir upside down crown molding in corrudor. lots of leaks and bucjets in hallways. installed new floor in 9th and 3 rd floors- chemical/ paint smell was horrid. Food qualiyy was sub par with the exception of Farenheit 555 restaurant, pizza place and Guys joint. The Sunrise was hit or miss everynight! Not enough activities or they overlapped each other! ports of call were fantastic! Medical Center was awesome- Mom injured in Rome. they took very goid care of her! I was pleasantly surprised that they were so well equipped and staffed! Staff were all nice. New Serenity decks were awesome! late night snacks were sick looking! stick with pizza or room service. The Playlist Players shows wrre very good! got to be a VIP dancer in a show and a day later they had a nice ViP private party with champagne. Spa was okay.Only regret- didnt get to have a drink made for me at the Alchemy Bar!

    MizKuz,


  • i was on the sunshine in June 2013. this past June. and let me tell you. it is a beautiful ship. staff is amazing and accomodating. food was excellent. it felt like i was home. we sailed the mediterranean as the third trip after its transformation. if you are on deck7 in a suite and have Jelena as your room keeper than you have the best you can get. wait staff eromin flaviu are the best as well. enjoyable experience! i cant wait to go back

    Rating: 5/5

    Enrico,


  • went on sunshine 11 oct 13, not a good trip, hygiene levels poor, buckets in corridors, food cold and bland, extortionate pricing with 15% service charge + 10% vat not clearly stated anywhere. cabin air con broken, apparently had been broken last 3 or 4 cruises. trips excellent have never been on carnival before, and necer again!

    gristy1962,


  • Sailed 28th August 2013 for 12 nights. Nothing stood out on ship, Service very poor. ports of call very good and found entertainment very good but did not flow through ship, everything overlapped. will think again about using Carnival again though 😕.

    Rating: 2/5

    Gillian,


  • Booked for Feb. 2014 on the Carnival Sunshine. Cruised when it was called The Destiny in 2012. Can't wait to c the transformation.

    Rating: 5/5

    Juan,


  • Had a great time on the Destiny. Cant wait to see all the transformations when we board in August 2013.

    Rating: 5/5

    Paul,


  • Cruised on the Destiny in December. Loved it!!

    Rating: 4/5

    Alex,


  • Badass ship

    Rating: 5/5

    jacobnusbaum,


  • Our 3rd European Inaugural - - Magic, Breeze and now Sunshine. Checkout CARNIVAL BREEZE WATERWORKS on YouTube . See G open up video!

    Rating: 5/5

    European Cruisers,


  • Best ever! Sailed the Destiny June 2011 and had the time of our lives!

    Rating: 5/5

    Rena ,


  • If it hadn't been for the rough seas it would have been perfect. You can't control the weather. Staff was awesome and room steward was very pleasant. Cant wait til December to go again

    Rating: 5/5

    David,


  • Sailed October 20 - great ship, good food, great crew. Cruise highlights were a person falling overboard and being rescued followed by diversions due to hurricane sandy. Overall a great trip

    Rating: 4/5

    baxter2000,


  • Had a great time!! Enjoyed every cruise so far with carnival. Going again on carnival again next year. Thank you very much. Also to the gentleman that took care of our room very very nice. The only thing that I saw was how much food people waisted. If you are not going to eat it then don't get it!!

    Rachel118,


  • We just came back from a 5 day cruise to the Bahamas & Grand Turk. I must say I was very disappointed in the service on this ship. No one seemed to care about customer service, in fact there seemed to be no service especially at the bars. If this was my first cruise, I don't think I would cruise Carnival again. I must mention our server at dinner (Kate) was terrific. If everyone else had half her personality it would have made for a much better experience. Hopefully once it comes out of dry dock and becomes the Sunshine it will have a staff that shines!

    Rating: 3/5

    Debi,


  • Just came back from my cruise which was my 45th bday gift from hubbie. This is our 4th cruise together and not our best. Although Ocho Rios and Cayman rocked..the service onboard was not like my other cruises. No smiles ! They acted like they couldn't be bothered. I've already planned 2 cruises for next year because I won't let one bad experience ruin my Carnival experience. Happy Cruisin!!

    Rating: 2/5

    Gayle,


  • Just returned from the grand caymen Ocho rios trip.... LOVED IT. The room stewards were so personable and the waiters at the main dinner were amazing, hated to leave them, I want to turn around and do it again right now,made it best and most enjoyable honeymoon/birthday/ vacation any one could ask for Thanks carnival D. Lamb

    Rating: 5/5

    aklamb,


  • Cruised to Jamaica and grand cayman 6-11 oct 2012. Loved our room steward Abdi. Ollie and Albert at the Flagship Bar were awesome. Even enjoyed Kevin's jokes in between his songs at the Flagship bar too. Did not like the food as much as princess sapphire though. The sushi was gross and bland. Service in the Galaxy anytime dining room was inattentive and lackluster. It's sad that the room service sandwiches were better than most of the food offered in the dining room. Hope things are better after the refurbish when we sail in April 2013 on our Mediterranean cruise.

    Rating: 4/5

    Hooah,


  • The destiny is the best ship ever Better than the dream I love it

    Daniel,


  • Sailed in May 2012 to Jamaica/Cayman Islands. It was my first cruise so I did not go with many expectations. The weather was not in our favor for the majority of our trip, however the day we spent in Jamaica was beautiful. The ship was gorgeous, waiters were very attentive, and our cruise director Noonan made the rainy days at sea an experience I will never forget. Our room was very spacious and the food was great! If you are a first time cruiser, this is the ship for you. Thanks carnival! See you Jan 2013!!!

    Rating: 5/5

    cb011087,


  • Destiny was a beautiful ship! I did not see why it gets such a bad rap. Did a 5 day to Jamaica and Grand Cayman and it was wonderful! Can't wait for our next cruise!

    Rating: 5/5

    Jennifer449,


  • It's a amazing ship and staff!! :D Idk why other people say its bad. The Destiny is a very clean ship and more fun then I thought it would be for 16 year old ship :P

    Ang1045,


  • Best Cruise Ever! Loved the service!

    Rating: 5/5

    Teetee34565,


  • We just returned from a 5 day to Turk and Bahamas. Great crew but ship needs to be cleaned and updated. Pools are too small for 2500 people. Food lines were always long...I have cruised before and will again, but not on this ship until its renovated.

    Rating: 1/5

    Amy,


  • Cruised 11-16 June 2012,fifteen in our group. Most everything was great. However, one of five rooms was very hot with no a/c. It did not get fixed even with one phone call and two face to face requests at the Guest Services desk. The unloading at Half Moon Cay was extremely slow and very poorly managed, it was 12:30pm before we were allowed to leave Destiny after arriving at 9:00am. Obviously need to improve tender service. No time compensation on the island for late unloading. Food servers on the island were removing food items from the line while passengers were trying to eat. Food on Destiny was great, our room steward Mario was absolutely wonderful. Our dining server Iktuk, in the Universal Dining, room took great care of us.

    Rating: 4/5

    SalVegas,


  • We got off cruise in June going to Turks and Nassau. Carnival could have cared less that the air conditioner wasn't working properly in cabin. Found out later, other cabins were either too hot or freezing. A myriad of problems existed, cabin phones not working, showers flooding bathroom, construction going on in lower decks so passengers couldn't sleep. I could go on and on but why? The only thing that made the cruise enjoyable was our family members and knowing we were disembarking soon. NEVER AGAIN CARNIVAL!!!!! Not that the four cabins we reserved will ever mean anything, we're just dollar signs, however, the only way we knew to get your attention was to have your crew members realize your non caring attitude. Maybe when they speak you'll listen, but I doubt it.

    Rating: 1/5

    Neveragaincarnival,


  • Loved the cruise we just got back from! Jamaica and grand cayman in June 2012 my kids had a blast and so did I! Thank you carnival!!!! We'll see you next year!

    Rating: 5/5

    Shannon,


  • Just left Destiny this morning! We had a fantastic time. We didn't want to leave. Thank you for the wonderful memories!

    Rating: 5/5

    Nan,


  • Just got off of the Carnival Destiny. Extremely disappointed. Not to the standard of service we have grown accustomed to from our previous cruises. For future reference, anyone about to stay in cabins 7197 or 7201, you will have no thermostat control. (The dial is there but it doesn't work.). After several complaints, they came up and measured the room air at 76 & said it's "within their standards." The humidity was so high my parents' and sister's clothes and sheets in these two rooms remained damp the whole trip. They offered several lies as to what was going on including "It will be fixed in 2 hours," but to no avail. They never apologized and refused any room movement or partial compensation. We found out the previous cruisers complained when the lady at the desk said, "You should be happy, the last cruise it was measuring 78 degrees." We figure they know the problem & have no intentions of fixing it because the ship is going to dry dock for a complete overhaul in January. We also heard similar complaints of heat on the 2nd floor (not sure which rooms) and more complaints regarding construction in the employees quarters from 8am-8pm. The guy said it was banging and circular saws all day-- he couldn't even go to his stateroom for a nap. We have taken several cruises with carnival, all great--sadly, this was the absolute worst customer service we have ever experienced anywhere. Simple rule-- Don't be greedy. If you shouldn't rent the cabin, then don't.

    Rating: 1/5

    JillGal,


  • Dirty old ship. Needs serious updating. Too many area for smokers. Not family friendly. Very disappointed in carnival. Probubly will never travel with them again.

    Rating: 1/5

    Markjobman@me.com,


  • Went on Destiny back last year in 8/8/11 it was OK, they didn't have a dual hot tub which I'm spoiled with now after enjoying them on both Freedom and Glory. The ship is beautiful but as long as you can be ok without hot tubs, then you'll have a good time.

    Rating: 3/5

    Jose3,


  • This is our 2nd cruise with Carnival and loved the adventure. We went in March 2012. Food was great! The only issue I have is the shows on this ship were a little trashy and too revealing. Other wise we enjoyed the trip. To be an older ship, it was in nice shape. Going on the Legend in November and looking forward to it.

    Rating: 3/5

    Christy,


  • We are a family of three...Dad, Mom, teenage daughter. We just spent 5 marvelous days on the Destiny...debarked last Saturday. As first time cruisers we have no comparison, but all I know is that we loved the trip. From cabin steward Bismark to dining room waiter Pindele, the entire crew took great care of us. The food was marvelous...don't miss the chocolate melting cake! {The Lido late PM could have a little more variety.} Our cabin was bigger than I expected....if you splurge on a balcony room you won't regret it, but save some money for drinks as they are not cheap. We visited Nassau, Half Moon Cay, and Grand Turk. Don't bother with Carnival's shore excursions at Nassau; You can find the same excursions for half price when you exit the ship. Take a taxi to the beach for $4 a person but beware those trolling the beach for rentals and sales. Half Moon Cay Is beautiful and my favorite day of the cruise; catch the early tender to the island and expect a line to return but wait at the bar to make it bearable. There is not much to see at HMC if you snorkel so don't bother with the snorkel rental unless you do the shore excursion. Grand Turk is a newer port; a few decent shops but not on the scale of Nassau. Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville has good burgers but very slower service...$65 for appetizer, two burgers and 2 margaritas. The beach at Grand Turk is pretty but made of very small rocks and pebbles rather than fine sand. Grab a deck chair early for the day at Sea or you might find yourself lying on the wooden deck. It was a great family experience. My teen chose to stick with Mom rather than hang with the teens. She loved the head to toe treatment in the spa. The comedians on the ship were hilarious and the cruise director Noonan was good. His assistant Sarah tried too hard and was just annoying. We did not think much of the two stage shows...they were very dated. Relax, indulge, laugh, and when you get home I guarantee you will start planning your next trip.

    Rating: 4/5

    Paula,


  • Incredible time and wonderful ship!

    Rating: 5/5

    Nathan63,


  • The Destiny needs a upgrade, I've cruised at least 6 other times and would recommend other carnival ships.No refrigerator in rooms. However the service on this ship was superb

    tylerdee,


  • We went on Feb 16th and the ship and workers where amazing!!!! Our room was very clean and was nicer then what I thought! Food was always good and very plentiful!! Just can't wait to go again!!!!

    Rating: 5/5

    April,


  • This ship was ok, but liked the others better.

    Richard,


  • Cruised 2/16-2/20/12 to key west & Cozumel. My 2nd cruise, kids 1st. Camp carnival too confusing. Kids different ages too far apart on different areas if the ship. My kids were 4,5 &7. Spent most of my time dropping off & picking up kids. Too much smoking on the lido deck. DJ at night sucked. Raffles were not fair. It was a confusing cruise would not sail on the destiny again.

    Rating: 4/5

    momof3,


  • Went on Destiny May 2011 on the NKOTB cruise. Staff was great, everything was clean, food was good, ship is dated but who cares! Lots to do. Cruising again this year!

    Teresa,


  • Fun ship.had a great time. Staff was always helpful and friendly.

    Rating: 5/5

    pad920,


  • I completely had a ball in December!!! Noonan and Shorty were awesome! Take back your tips on the second day and give the cabin steward cash because he/she will know your name on day one and will clean the hell out of your room it seems like every time you leave! Also, GET INVOLVED!!! I think I did every activity they offered! People do win iPads and cash out of the machines in the casino so give it a try. Do assigned seating for dinner so you won't have to wait in line. Bring some picture money because you WILL buy some pics! Go to the helpful hint seminars that the cruise director offers. They will shake water bottles to check for booze (water doesn't bubble up) so check it don't carry booze. Turn your phone off because you will be internationally roaming and even receiving texts can be .50¢ per text. I used my iPhone as a PDA and music player only. Bring a power strip there are only 3-4 plugs in the room. Bring a shoe organizer for the bathroom for toiletries because there is no counter space. Read the cruise pamphlet daily because it will have info on events. Save money on excursions by getting off the boat and go directly to the vendor standing on shore. The spa has a drawing for a free couples treatment on the first day but you have to be present. Bring a sweater!!! The lido deck is your friend!!!! Have fun!!!

    Rating: 5/5

    rmtsj99,


  • Just did a 5 night western Caribbean and had an AMAZING time. Sure the ship is older, but it has everything we needed and wanted. Staff was incredible, and that alone would make me book a trip on the Destiny again in the future!

    Rating: 5/5

    maggotmary,


  • If youve been on newer cruises you wont find this one as amusing in all aspects. Do not overpay for this one. Thats what happened to us only we expected it with what we paid for.

    Rating: 3/5

    elianetteo,


  • Loved this boat!!!!

    Courtney,


  • Just got back from a 5 day to Jamaica and Grand Cayman! The ship is a bit dated but definately fun!!! The staff is amazing and there is lots to do!!

    Christina,


  • We sailed on the Destiny over Christmas. It was our first cruise and we loved it. The Destiny is a very comfortable ship. It is not huge and therefore very easy to get around. The staff are amazing. We ate dinner every night in the Galaxy dining room and enjoyed great meals with the best staff ever. If you are looking for a smaller ship, you won't go wrong with the Destiny

    Rating: 4/5

    malindsay,


  • I LOVE THIS SHIP! I WENT ON IT THIS PAST OCTOBER THE STAFF WAS AMAZING THEY TOOK VERY GOOD CARE OF US, AND I HAD A LOT OF FUN! IT WAS MY SECOND CRUISE AND NOW WERE ABOUT TO BOOK OUR 3rd ON CARNIVAL ECSTASY! I MISS THE SHIP AND CREW!!!

    carnivalcruiser,


  • Went on the Destiny in july. Had a great time, very clean, loved the food and the staff was wonderful and always made sure we was happy.

    Rating: 5/5

    LaToya,


  • Our cruise was sparkling clean! Staff amazing! Daughter hurt her leg running up the steps to the slide! Everyone was very helpful!! 4th cruise and one of the best!

    Rating: 5/5

    gevbre02,


  • 2010 went on Destiny nice ship but was the cruise to know where. Propulsion problems were not addressed didn't make one port. Cruised in circles no remedies offered for not making any ports...Crew was wonderful Management not so much...

    Rating: 1/5

    Kelly,


  • Went on this ship 15 years ago, and again a couple of weeks ago...and nothing has changed! Boat needs a LOT of maintenance, but it's ok for a short trip.

    Rating: 4/5

    nbgarcia81,


  • Ship staff and service were excellent. Love you destiny! <3 Tiff

    Rating: 5/5

    tiffy212,


  • Had a brillent time. All the staff where excellent and hard working to keep everyone happy and the ship clean. This was my 2nd trip with carnavil now planing my 3rd

    anderson,


  • The cruise was awesome & the service was excellent :)

    FLG216,


  • Cruised on Destiny in September. Had a great time on a great ship. Service was excellent.

    coachq3,


  • Our waiters and room staff were awesome!! Food was not near as good as the Liberty. And they allowed smoking in the casino and a couple of the bars which we did not go to because of that

    Rating: 3/5

    robincote,


  • Goong on her for the second time tomorrow. For being 16 years old it is in great condition. Staff & service is excellent.

    Rating: 4/5

    Aerie,


  • Dirty Service was regular not that nice and attentive to costumer Old need ti remodel

    Rating: 3/5

    uribec,


Download the App